Mos Patel bags second AT Award with Impulse Retailer win

Asian Trader Impulse Retailer Award
L-R: Shailesh Solanki, Mos & Anju Patel, Sharad Chandak, Regional Head (UK Region), State Bank of India, Kalpesh Solanki, Rory Bremner

Mos Patel, who runs two stores in Greater Manchester, has been named as the Impulse Retailer of the Year at the 2021 Asian Trader Awards.

This is the second consecutive win for Mos at the prestigious awards, after winning the Food to Go Retailer award last time. Both his stores, Premier Heyside in Oldham and Family Shopper in Ashton-Under-Lyne, made it into the shortlist this year, and declared joint winners in the Impulse Retailer category.

The 33rd edition of the awards, which celebrates excellence in the UK’s convenience stores, was held on Tuesday 30 November at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, London hosted by noted impressionist Rory Bremner.

Business Secretary Kwasi Kwarteng has graced the event as chief guest, with leading politicians and captains of industry joining in to herald independent retailers, convenience store and symbol operators, shopkeepers, off-license owners and newsagents from across the UK.

Delivering his keynote speech, Kwarteng said: “I have to say to the companies and  business leaders represented here tonight that you have shown a spirit of sacrifice, and huge amounts of real leadership in your communities. And that’s why I wouldn’t miss this event for the world.

“It was retailers, day in day out, who were bearing the brunt of the risk, who were working, in many cases 20 hours a day, to keep people going and to make sure that essential goods and services were provided. And my only word is thank you. You probably don’t hear that too often from government ministers.

“But from the bottom of my heart that is the most sincere, heartfelt message, because it’s been a terrible time, for so many people in lots of different communities, and without your support, without your unstinting effort, things would have been a lot worse. So thank you very much on behalf of everybody in this country.”

Winners of Asian Trader Awards 2021

The Asian Trader Impulse Retailer Award, supported by State Bank of India, celebrates a store which is exceptionally well merchandised and ensures all its ranges are immaculately displayed for maximum impact.

Mos’s Ashton store is laid out to make it as easy as possible for shoppers to find what they want but, at the same time, to tempt them to make additional impulse purchases. As the store is located in a low-income area, Mos ensured that price points remained at the value end of the scale. This, coupled with regular promotional activity brings in a high level of repeat footfall to the store.

The Oldham store has a very busy post office counter which attracts a lot of footfall, and during a refit last year the layout was re-jigged with aisles re-positioned to run horizontally instead of vertically – a change which now means that post office customers must now walk past the full food to go offer and promotional bays to reach the counter. The store also makes great use of signage to flag up offers which in turn drive impulse sales.

The Judging Panel said: “Great store, great staff, who costume-up for seasonal events such as Easter, Halloween, and Christmas; and a fabulous ‘open kitchen’ making all their own food.”

The full list of the winners:

  • Ram Solanki Lifetime Achievement Award: Sir David Amess MP (posthumous)
  • Wholesale Depot of the Year Award: Time Cash & Carry Rainham
  • Responsible Retailer of the Year supported by JTI: Lewis Prager, Best One Preens, Wakefield West Yorkshire and Jonathan James, James Convenience Retail Ltd, Derby
  • Convenience Chain of the Year Award supported by Dr Beckmann: Pete (Kalpesh) Patel, Zola Ltd (Costcutter) Southborough
  • Local Hero Award supported by Walkers Sensations: Asif Akhtar, Premier Smeaton Stores, Kirkcaldy
  • Bakery Retailer of the Year Award supported by Warburtons: Mike Humphreys, Premier Kenninghall Stores and Post Office Norwich
  • Independent Retailer of the Year Award supported by Booker: Pete Saleem, Premier Broadway Circle, Blythe, Northumberland
  • Food To Go Retailer of the Year Award: Shamly Sud, Premier Racetrack, Glasgow
  • Tobacco Retailer of the Year Award supported by Imperial Tobacco: Amit Puntambekar, Ash’s Store, Fenstanton, Cambridgeshire
  • Impulse Retailer of the Year Award supported by State Bank of India: Mos Patel Family Shopper Ashton Under Lyne (Both Shops)
  • Symbol Convenience Retailer of the Year Award supported by Bestway: Kopi Kalanathan, Costcutter, Doncaster
  • Next Gen Award supported by pladis: Nishi Patel, Londis Bexley Park, Dartford
  • Vape Convenience Retailer of the Year Award supported by British American Tobacco: Aman Uppal, One Stop Mount Nod, Coventry
  • Spirit of the Community Award supported by Mondelez: Julie Kaur, Premier Jules Convenience Store, Telford
  • Asian Trader of the Year: Mandeep Singh, Premier Singh’s Shirecliffe, Sheffield

Product Awards:

  • Convenience Snacks Brand of the Year: McCoy’s Fire Pit, KP Snacks
  • Convenience Soft Drink Brand of the Year: Monster Nitro, Coca-Cola Europacific Partners
  • Convenience Confectionery Brand of the Year: Cadbury Twirl Orange by Mondelēz International
  • Convenience Vape & Next Gen Product of the Year: Ploom by JTI